Skip to content

Free shipping on orders $100 or more. Order by 4 PM Eastern and it ships today. Subscribe and get 10% off at checkout. We ship to all 50 states, no medical card needed. Get 5% off orders $200 or more in the WHAM app.

WHAM
Dark brushed-metal surface crossed by a thin diagonal strip of warm gold light

Big Chief vs WHAM: Hardware, Format and the $25 Question

A format-first look at a Los Angeles vape name and Lil Baby's own 2g pens and dual-chamber Duo.

6 min read
All articles
Share

Big Chief and the WHAM 2g pens cost the same here: $25. The real difference is what you know before you open the box. Our Big Chief listing doesn't state a size or oil type. The WHAM Bolt 2g, Blackout and Sunrise each list 2g of hemp-derived distillate with live terpenes in a rechargeable device. If you want two strains in one pen, the WHAM Duo is $30 for two 1g chambers.

Big Chief, briefly

Big Chief is a Los Angeles brand. Its own site says it was established in 2013 and that it started with one cartridge: a wood tip on a gold body. About ten years later, the brand says, it "doubled it" with the Duo, a two-chamber device.

According to Big Chief's site, its current vape lineup has three formats:

  • Duo V3: two chambers, a screen, USB-C charging.

  • A one-piece disposable: USB-C charging, a screen and a puff rating on the brand's page.

  • A 510 cartridge: ceramic core, standard 510 thread, the wood-tip look the brand started with.

The brand describes its oil as melted or liquid diamonds. It also lists flower, pre-rolls and hash holes on its shop, some marked as coming soon. Sales tracker Headset shows the brand mostly in licensed California dispensaries.

Big Chief's site lists its current devices at 2g. Our listing doesn't say which Big Chief model it is or how much oil it holds, so we treat the size as unknown. You should too.

Reading the Big Chief listing

Before the side-by-side, it helps to separate what our Big Chief page says from what it leaves out.

What it says: it's a Big Chief disposable, priced at $25. It describes a slim pen with a battery and coil, hemp-derived oil, and it's for adults 21+.

What it doesn't say: the model, the oil amount, the oil type beyond "hemp-derived," the strain, or how it charges.

That isn't unusual for a third-party brand on a reseller shelf. It just means the WHAM listings next to it carry more numbers, and the comparison below leans on those numbers where they exist and says "not stated" where they don't.

Where the two formats split

Format is where this comparison gets useful. Here are the five things we'd check, in order.

1. How much oil is inside

Big Chief (our listing): not stated.

WHAM: stated on every pen. Bolt 2g, Blackout and Sunrise hold 2g each. The Bolt 1g holds 1g, the Nano holds 0.5g.

At $25 for 2g, a WHAM 2g pen works out to $12.50 per gram. We can't run that math for the Big Chief listing because there's no size to divide by.

2. One chamber or two

Big Chief's own site leads with its two-chamber Duo. Our listing doesn't say whether it's that device or a single-chamber pen.

The WHAM Duo is a 2g dual-chamber pen: two 1g strains and a switch on the side. Flip it to change strains. At $30 that's $15 per gram, a $5 step up from the single-chamber 2g pens for the second strain.

The Duo makes sense for a specific buyer: someone who reaches for a different strain at night than in the morning, but only wants one pen in their pocket. If you only ever smoke one strain, the extra chamber doesn't earn its $5.

If you want the split but would rather control it yourself, buy Blackout for night and Sunrise for day. Two pens, two clear jobs.

3. Charging

Big Chief's site says its current Duo and one-piece disposable charge over USB-C. Our listing itself mentions a battery and coil but doesn't spell out charging.

WHAM's Bolt, Blackout and Sunrise are rechargeable. The Bolt has its charge port on the bottom, so a pen that runs low before the oil does isn't wasted. The 2g sizing guide explains why a rechargeable battery matters more the bigger the tank gets.

4. Oil type

Big Chief: the brand calls its oil melted diamonds or liquid diamonds. Our listing says "hemp-derived" and nothing more specific.

WHAM: three tiers, each named on the page.

  • Distillate with live terpenes: Bolt, Blackout, Sunrise.

  • Live resin: the Live Resin 2g at $50 and the 510 Cart at $25.

  • Solventless live rosin: the Live Rosin 1g at $55.

If those three sound alike, our live resin vs live rosin explainer separates them.

5. Build style

Our Big Chief listing calls the pen slim. WHAM's Nano is the smallest pen we make, a 0.5g mini that's draw-activated, at $20.

The cartridge crowd

By its own account, Big Chief started with a 510 cart. If that's the part of the brand you're loyal to, you already own a battery, and a disposable may not be what you want at all.

The WHAM 510 Cart is 1g of live resin for $25 and threads onto a standard 510 battery. We don't sell Big Chief carts on this site. For the trade-offs between a cart and a disposable, see our 510 cartridge explainer.

What $50 gets you

Each disposable line in the cart has to reach $50, so quantities follow price:

  • Big Chief at $25: two per line, $50.

  • WHAM Bolt 2g, Blackout or Sunrise at $25: two per line, $50, for 4g of stated oil.

  • WHAM Duo at $30: two per line, $60, for 4g across four 1g chambers.

  • WHAM 510 Cart at $25: two per line, $50.

Standard shipping is free from a $100 subtotal and $9.99 below that. Two Big Chief pens plus two WHAM Bolt 2g pens land at exactly $100, which is the simplest way to try both and decide for yourself.

Who should pick which

Pick Big Chief if you already know the brand and want it. Brand loyalty is a real reason, and the price is the same as our 2g pens.

Pick a WHAM 2g pen if the stated size matters to you, or if you want indica or sativa called out by name. Two grams also means fewer reorders; how long one lasts depends on how you pull, which we cover in how long a disposable lasts.

Pick the WHAM Duo if the two-chamber idea is what drew you to Big Chief in the first place and you want the chamber split written on the listing.

Either way, it's one order. WHAM is Lil Baby's own brand and whamlilbaby.com is its official store; Big Chief is a separate company we carry. Everything ships together from our warehouse in plain packaging, adults 21+. Browse the full disposables collection to see the rest of the shelf.

What the writer recommends

6 hand-picked products

Quick answers

Frequently asked

  • Our listing doesn't state a size, so we won't give one. Big Chief's own site lists its current devices at 2g, but the listing doesn't say which model ours is.

  • No. They're different devices from different brands. The WHAM Duo is a 2g dual-chamber disposable with two 1g strains and a side switch, priced at $30.

  • No. Big Chief is a Los Angeles brand that says it dates to 2013. WHAM is Lil Baby's brand, named after his 2025 album *Who Hard As Me*. We stock both.

  • Each disposable line must reach $50. Big Chief is $25, so the cart sets the quantity at two.

  • We can only work it out for WHAM, because the Big Chief listing gives no size. A WHAM 2g pen at $25 is $12.50 per gram, and the $30 Duo is $15 per gram.

Keep reading

More from the editorial

Articles in Education and across the WHAM Read.

All articles
WHAM THC — Lil Baby's official federally legal hemp brand
Editorial newsletter

Get 5% off + the best reads in your inbox

Join 50,000+ subscribers. One short editorial email a week — unsubscribe any time.

No spam · unsubscribe in one click